The Writer’s Block

I find myself sitting down under the shade of a tree in the middle of a field with a shabby looking notebook on my lap and a pen in hand. At first, all I could do was just sit there and stare blankly into space silently hoping for any sentence-or at least a word-on my notebook. A minute passed, and still there was nothing to write and so I decided to give up and groan in frustration. “Relax”, I told myself and put down my pen, lean my head back against the trunk of the tree and closed my eyes. Amazingly, as if touched by the magical wand of a fairy, everything came to life. I felt the gentle breeze of the wind tickling my face, felt the heat from the sun that hung on the clear blue sky like a huge fireball, heard the faint rustle of leaves and the chirping of birds. Nearby, I hear the soft ripple of water in the brook with the little colored fishes swimming in it. And oh! I see a butterfly with its intricate design and the tinge of blue on its wings, perching delicately on the petal of the sweet smelling gumamela flower on the bushes. I picked the flower up but got disappointed when the butterfly flew away. Absentmindedly, I tucked the flower in my hair and slipped the sandals off my small-sized feet. And suddenly, acting without thinking, I ran the expanse of the field while making steps of a dance like a professional dancer, exhilarated by the carefree spirit within me. And then, as if someone snapped a finger at me, I opened my eyes and found myself seated again under the shade of a tree. As soon as the pen touched the blank space on the notebook, a playful smile touched my lips. Funny how one’s imagination work.

P.S Made the author by herself this afternoon. This is an original work made (truly made) by the author. No plagiarism.

Whatcha Say?

