A Journalist’s Honest Confessions

On the Regional School’s Press Conference 2010

I firmly remembered that day, the sun hung on the clear blue sky and the birds chirping on the treetops, that very day when my coach told me I qualified for the Regional Schools Press Conference. I remembered the feeling of triumph and the sudden joy that coursed through me. It was like being hailed as one of the members of the royalty; it’s as if the nature and the world suddenly recognized that awkward gangly girl with her braided long hair as someone important and worthy of attention. But the joy and triumph I felt was short-lived when they told me that the battle of pens and papers was not yet over, that the battle hasn’t ended but has only just begun.

I have to temporarily say adieu to my parents and friends bringing with me their kisses, hugs, and prayers as I have to face my charm of luck to this battle, held in a foreign land I haven’t set foot on while I readied myself for the contest, using up the wee hours to practice my forte.  I also remembered the day when I arrived at the venue. I was having the “pre-contest jitters”. I took in the fresh sea-breeze air, lush trees with the migratory birds flying atop and the blooming flowers on the overgrown bushes. I was there in the middle of a field with the foreign land and people except of our accommodations, people and most importantly the contest. But I was suddenly awakened from my reverie when a group of people with the same age as I am, approached us with their huge smile pasted on their faces leading us to our temporary lodgings and I was amazed at the intensity of the warmness of their welcome.

The people ushered us to our assigned billeting rooms with comfortable fresh pillows and blankets, the comfort rooms and bath rooms with the fresh water from the tap and ready to use toiletries in it. I was still in a daze by their perfect treatment when they surprised us with a little program and served good food and relaxing ambiance for us to be at ease and treat this place as a home away from home. With this good treatment, I realized I was enjoying more than what I expected and it helped me become relaxed to the upcoming contest.

Up until now, I haven’t recovered by this experience that I don’t even want to go home. Even if the contest is finished and we are already waiting for the results, I can’t believe I’m enjoying everything in here. It was like having the time of my life and I can say, win or lose I will not have any regrets in this perfect experience.

16 responses to “A Journalist’s Honest Confessions

  1. I must say i loved this post. You describe this topic wonderfully. When hiring home contractors it is key to pick a trusted name in construction. Experienced and efficient staff should strive for excellence and absorb every detail of your home.

  2. Many thanks for sharing superb informations. Your websiteis so cool.We are stunned at the facts that you’ve about this blog. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this website, should come backfor extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I came across simply the info I already searched all over the place and simply couldn?t find. Exactly what a ideal website. I favor this web web page as well as your website is without question considered one of my new favorite ones.I love this amazing site given and has now given me a dedication to succeed for many purpose, so thanks

  3. There is really a strange factor going on with your web design and the personality within this post that you simply simply made. I love that I hope to read a whole lot more in depth thoughts and also randoms as part of your mind from the future post.

  4. I noticed something as well about this topic on different blog site.Amazingly, your linear perspective on it is diametrically opposite to what I read previously. I am still trying to figure out over the conflicting points of view, but I’m tipped strongly toward yours. And in any case, that’s what is so superb about contemporary democracy and the marketplace of thoughts onthe internet.

  5. Admiring the commitment you put into your blog and detailed information you present. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Whatcha Say?

